Home » Notes From Atid: Forgive Us, Father In Law, For We Know Not What To Think: Letter To A Philosophical Dropout From Orthodoxy by Shalom Carmy
Notes From Atid: Forgive Us, Father In Law, For We Know Not What To Think:  Letter To A Philosophical Dropout From Orthodoxy Shalom Carmy

Notes From Atid: Forgive Us, Father In Law, For We Know Not What To Think: Letter To A Philosophical Dropout From Orthodoxy

Shalom Carmy

Published 2004
ISBN : 9789657324004
28 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

In the tradition of Maimonides Guide of the Perplexed, Samson Raphael Hirschs Nineteen Letters, and C.S. Lewis satirical Screwtape, Shalom Carmys Letter To A Philosophical Dropout From Orthodoxy offers us insight into what it means to be religiously alive, and philosophically engaged by Judaism, in the form of a letter to a questioning seeker. Teachers, rabbis, counselors, and parents entrusted with guiding children, young adults, and all seekers of religious truth, will find value in the disputation of the dont ask, dont tell attitude which too often limits Orthodox Judaism to a set of demonstrable normative acts, eviscerating the inner meaning, depth, and force of a philosophically engaged, multi-dimensional Jewish life. Encompassing a tour of topics in the philosophies of science and religion, and a compelling argument for the centrality of the personal in Torah life, Letter to A Philosophical Dropout From Orthodoxy provides a sophisticated response to central questions in contemporary Jewish education.